SQL 2008 Enterprise Unsupported Version with SharePoint 2010 RC

Over the last few months I’ve been playing with the various versions of SharePoint 2010 BETA on Windows Server 2008 R2.  Various hotfixes were required to get it installed and working but yesterday and today I’ve been installing the SharePoint 2010 RC and ran into a small issue with SQL 2008.   I thought it made sense to blog about this particular issue so that I can refer to it in the future and if it helps out anybody else then great.

It seems that SharePoint 2010 RC doesn’t like certain versions of SQL 2008 Enterprise.  This is the error I was running into immediately after installing SharePoint 2010 RC while attempting to run the SharePoint Products Configuration Wizard tool:

SQL server at SERVER_NAME has an unsupported version 10.0.2531.0.  Please refer to “http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=165761” for more information on the minimum required SQL Server versions and how to download them.

In order to fix this I simply followed the link in the error message and then followed a child link to the following URL: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/970315/

From here I was able to request the Cumulative update package 2 for SQL Server 2008 Service Pack 1 which contains almost twenty hotfixes.  I had to supply my email address and within a few minutes was sent a link where I could download it.  Once downloaded, unzipped (using the password that was emailed to me with the download URL) and installed, the server required a reboot after which I was able to continue running the SharePoint Products Configuration Wizard as expected.

This entry was posted in SharePoint. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SQL 2008 Enterprise Unsupported Version with SharePoint 2010 RC

  1. Palanivel Ramachandaran says:

    Hi

    Thanks for your comments. i also facing this issue but now i slved based on your guidlines.

    Thanks,Pal

  2. Nico says:

    Man, I think you just saved my life :)

    Thanks so much for this entry !

    Nico
    From Toulouse
    France

  3. With garcinea cambogia, these results cost from actually fragile to gentle.
    It has some diuretic residential properties which
    assist to improve the functioning of the kidneys. Hence, it keeps you loosens
    up and distressed.

Leave a Reply

